Image Image Image Image Image

© 2020 Jan Tenhaven   |   Imprint and Disclaimer

Scroll to Top

To Top

Jan Tenhaven

POLEN SHALOM!POLEN SHALOM!

By Jan Tenhaven

On 04, May 2021 | In | By Jan Tenhaven

POLEN SHALOM!

POLEN SHALOM! YOUNG, JEWISH, SELF-CONFIDENT
32 minutes | Reportage | Arte | Hoferichter & Jacobs Filmproduktion

Although young Jews in Poland belong to a tiny minority, a new self-confidence is growing among them. Radek only recently learned of his Jewish ancestry. He is happy to have found his identity. Patrycja and Eryc are also proud of their Jewish roots, but do not dare to identify themselves publicly as Jews.

They no longer want to hide, but live out their Jewishness openly – as best they can. Although young Jews in Poland – the former centre of European Jewry – belong to a tiny minority, a new self-confidence is growing among them. In spite of all anti-Semitic tendencies.

Radek, a 19-year-old computer science student from Warsaw, has only recently learned of his Jewish ancestry. He is happy to have finally found his true identity, suddenly lives strictly according to Orthodox laws, even teaches himself the Yiddish language.

Patrycja (27) and Eryk (23) from Wrocław rarely go to synagogue, but the young couple still feel Jewish at heart. The Shabbat meal on Friday is the highlight of the week for them. However, they do not dare to identify themselves as Jews outside their circle of friends. The fear of hostility is too great. Unlike Radek, they see no future for themselves in Poland. Patrycja and Eryk pack their bags to leave for Israel.

In Krakow – immigration in the other direction: Jullie (39) and Sergio (35) deliberately immigrated to Poland from Brazil because they feel safer here than in their old homeland. The parents of three small children say they see little of anti-Semitism. They praise the lively Jewish community in Krakow and feel comfortable in Poland. And anyway: “As Jews, we are looked at a bit askance everywhere anyway, so it almost doesn’t matter which country we are in,” says Sergio with a shrug.

Available here on Arte from 12/10/2021.

Image Image Image Image Image

© 2018 Jan Tenhaven   |   Impressum und Datenschutz  

Scroll to Top

To Top

Jan Tenhaven

POLEN SHALOM!POLEN SHALOM!

By Jan Tenhaven

On 04, Mai 2021 | In | By Jan Tenhaven

POLEN SHALOM!

POLEN SHALOM! JUNG, JÜDISCH, SELBSTBEWUSST
32 Minuten | Reportage | Arte | Hoferichter & Jacobs Filmproduktion

Zwar gehören junge Jüdinnen und Juden in Polen zu einer winzigen Minderheit, aber unter ihnen wächst ein neues Selbstbewusstsein. Radek hat erst vor kurzem von seiner jüdischen Abstammung erfahren. Er ist glücklich, seine Identität gefunden zu haben. Auch Patrycja und Eryc sind stolz auf ihre jüdischen Wurzeln, trauen sich aber nicht, sich öffentlich als Juden zu erkennen zu geben.

Sie wollen sich nicht länger verstecken, sondern ihr Jüdischsein offen ausleben – so gut es geht. Zwar gehören junge Jüdinnen und Juden in Polen – dem einstigen Zentrum des europäischen Judentums – zu einer winzigen Minderheit, aber unter ihnen wächst ein neues Selbstbewusstsein. Allen antisemitischen Tendenzen zum Trotz.

Radek, ein 19-jähriger Informatikstudent aus Warschau, hat erst vor kurzem von seiner jüdischen Abstammung erfahren. Er ist glücklich, endlich seine wahre Identität gefunden zu haben, lebt plötzlich streng nach den orthodoxen Gesetzen, bringt sich sogar die jiddische Sprache bei.

Patrycja (27) und Eryk (23) aus Wrocław gehen nur selten in die Synagoge, aber das junge Paar fühlt sich dennoch im Herzen jüdisch. Das Schabbat-Mahl am Freitag ist für sie der Höhepunkt der Woche. Allerdings wagen sie es nicht, sich außerhalb ihres Freundeskreises als Juden zu erkennen zu geben. Zu groß ist die Angst vor Anfeindungen. Anders als Radek sehen sie für sich keine Zukunft in Polen. Patrycja und Eryk packen die Koffer für ihre Ausreise nach Israel.

In Krakau – eine Immigration in die andere Richtung: Aus Brasilien sind Jullie (39) und Sergio (35) bewusst nach Polen eingewandert, weil sie sich hier sicherer als in ihrer alten Heimat fühlen. Vom Antisemitismus bekommen sie wenig mit, sagen die Eltern von drei kleinen Kindern. Sie loben die lebendige jüdische Community in Krakau, fühlen sich in Polen wohl. Und überhaupt: „Als Juden werden wir sowieso überall etwas schief angesehen, da ist es fast egal, in welchem Land wir sind“, sagt Sergio achselzuckend.

Ausstrahlung: voraussichtlich Herbst 2021, Arte