Image Image Image Image Image

© 2020 Jan Tenhaven   |   Imprint and Disclaimer

Scroll to Top

To Top

HEY, I AM A JEW – Positive feedback

In the documentary HEY, I AM A JEW! eleven young Jews between the ages of 12 and 25 talk about their everyday life, their religion, their hopes and dreams, about anti-Semitic experiences and annoying clichés.

The film was broadcast on 9 November 2020 as part of a ZDF theme evening and can be seen online until 6 September 2021.

I am very grateful for the positive feedback our documentary has received. Here is a small selection:

“Rating: worth seeing.”
-WAZ Funke Media

“Despite all seriousness on the subject of anti-Semitism, situation comedy and humour are not lacking, thanks to the interviewees and one or two cuts of the film material. At the beginning, for example, when some of the young people report about sometimes absurd inhibitions in their environment to speak the word ‘Jew’. ‘Yes, I am Jewish. And now, do you want a biscuit?’, asks 18-year-old Nika from Osnabrück. (…) The successful documentary, accompanied by varied music, will be broadcast on 9 November, the day on which the November pogroms of 1938 against Jews are remembered.”
-Jüdische Allgemeine

“The way the director and the camera manage to create closeness to the twelve young protagonists here is admirable. Not a word of an ‘explanatory’ comment disturbs the encounter with them, so that we get the impression that someone is speaking out here without the blinkers of a public that so likes to put everything Jewish on the pedestal of the tragic. Snappy cuts bring the young people together, make them seem like a family, while the camera is also interested in interiors and places where their lives take place: Living corners with the cinnabar that has accumulated there, cafés, empty school rooms and corridors, a sports hall, a lake, a playground. The personal view produces little stories instead of statements, living people instead of ‘talking heads’. (…) In its informality, the documentary stands out from the relevant TV programmes and sets standards for future considerations of this kind.”
-epd medien, Christian Deutschmann

“Be sure to watch!”
-Katharina von Schnurbein, European Commission Coordinator on combating antisemitism and fostering Jewish life (via Twitter)

“There is no talk here about Jews. Here are Jews talking.”
-Sigmount Könisgberg, Anti-Semitism Officer of the Jewish Community in Berlin (via Twitter)

“This film really shows many smart, young Jewish voices. A refreshment (…) Thanks to Jan Tenhaven for that.”
-Volker Beck, The Greens (via Twitter)

Image Image Image Image Image

© 2018 Jan Tenhaven   |   Impressum und Datenschutz  

Scroll to Top

To Top

HEY, ICH BIN JUDE! – Reaktionen

In der Doku HEY, ICH BIN JUDE! sprechen elf junge Jüdinnen und Juden zwischen 12 und 25 Jahren über ihren Alltag, ihre Religion, ihre Hoffungen und Träume, über antisemitische Erfahrungen und nervige Klischees.

Der Film wurde am 9. November 2020 im Rahmen eines ZDF-Themenabends ausgestrahlt und ist noch bis 6.9.2021 in der Mediathek zu sehen.

Ich freue mich sehr über die positive Resonanz, die unsere Doku bekommen hat. Hier eine kleine Auswahl:

„Prädikat sehenswert.“
-WAZ Funke Medien

„Trotz aller Ernsthaftigkeit beim Thema Antisemitismus fehlen Situationskomik und Humor nicht, was den Interviewten und dem einen oder anderen Schnitt des Filmmaterials zu verdanken ist. Etwa zu Beginn, wenn einige der Jugendlichen über teils absurde Hemmungen in ihrer Umgebung, das Wort ‚Jude‘ auszusprechen, berichten. ‚Ja, ich bin Jude. Und jetzt, willst du ’nen Keks?‘, fragt da der 18-jährige Nika aus Osnabrück. (…) Die gelungene und mit vielfältiger Musik unterlegte Doku wird am 9. November ausgestrahlt, dem Tag, an dem an die gegen Juden gerichteten Novemberpogrome von 1938 erinnert wird.“
-Jüdische Allgemeine

„Wie es hier Regie und Kamera gelingt, Nähe zu den zwölf jungen Protagonisten herzustellen, ist bewundernswert. Kein Wort eines ‚erklärenden‘ Kommentars stört die Begegnung mit ihnen, so dass wir den Eindruck gewinnen, hier spreche sich jemand ohne die Scheuklappen einer Öffentlichkeit aus, die alles Jüdische so gerne auf den Sockel des Tragikumwitterten stellt. Flotte Schnitte führen die Jugendlichen zusammen, lassen sie wie eine Familie erscheinen, während die Kamera sich auch für Interieurs und Orte interessiert, an denen sich deren Leben abspielt: Wohnecken mitsamt dem Zinnober, der sich da angesammelt hat, Cafés, leere Schulräume und -flure, eine Sporthalle, ein See, ein Spielplatz. Der persönliche Blick bringt kleine Geschichten statt Statements hervor, lebende Menschen statt ‚talking heads‘. (…) In seiner Ungezwungenheit ragt die Dokumentation aus dem einschlägigen TV-Angebot hervor und setzt Maßstäbe für künftige Betrachtungen dieser Art.“
-epd medien (Christian Deutschmann)

„Unbedingt anschauen!“
-Katharina von Schnurbein, Antisemitismusbeauftrage der Europäischen Kommission (via Twitter)

„Hier wird nicht über Jüdinnen*Juden geredet. Hier reden Jüdinnen*Juden.“
-Sigmount Könisgberg, Antisemitismusbeauftragter der Jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin (via Twitter)

„Dieser Film zeigt wirklich viele kluge, junge jüdische Stimmen. Ein Labsal (…) Danke Jan Tenhaven dafür.“
-Volker Beck, Die Grünen (via Twitter)